Penalties for a First-Time DUI in Florida

A person can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Florida if his/her blood alcohol content (BAC) level is at least .08 percent or if he/she is impaired due to illegal drugs. If a commercial driver’s license (CDL) holder has a BAC of at least .04 percent or an underage (under 21 years old) driver has a BAC of at least .02 percent, he/she could face DUI charges.

A first DUI offense is punishable by a maximum six-month jail sentence or probation for up to one year, a fine no more than $1,000, driver’s license revocation for up to one year, and up to 50 hours of community service. Additionally, a first DUI conviction can lead to vehicle impoundment or immobilization for up to 10 days.

However, if a person’s BAC is at least .15 percent—which is nearly double the legal limit—was driving with a minor passenger at the time of the arrest, he/she faces harsher penalties. A first DUI offense with a BAC of .15 percent or a minor passenger carries a maximum nine-month jail term, a fine not exceeding $2,000, driver’s license revocation for up to one year (with mandatory ignition interlock device installation for six months), and up to 50 hours of community service.

If a person was involved in an accident that resulted in minor injuries or property damage at the time of an arrest, a first-time DUI conviction is punishable by a jail sentence of up to one year. If a person was involved in an accident that resulted in serious injury, a first-time DUI conviction carries a prison sentence of up to five years and a fine of up to $5,000.

If you have been charged with a DUI in Fort Lauderdale, contact the Law Offices of Jaime A. Aird, P.A. today at (954) 866-7719 and schedule a free case evaluation.

Categories: