Your Fight is Our Fight We Don't Stop Until You're Satisfied with the Result

Fort Lauderdale DUI Attorney

Driving Under the Influence Florida Defense Lawyer

Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs is illegal in Florida, as it is across the nation. The legal limit regarding alcohol is .08% blood alcohol concentration (BAC). You may also be charged with a DUI for driving while under the influence of any drug, whether it is marijuana, an over-the-counter cold medicine, or a prescription drug ordered by your doctor. Any chemical substance that affects your ability to drive falls under DUI.

Being charged with a DUI can be a confusing, frightening, and intimidating experience. You may be stressed about how it will affect your future in terms of your ability to drive, your finances, your reputation, and your freedom. DUI charges should not be taken lightly. The state of Florida takes a hard line when it comes to driving under the influence. You will need to fight back with the help of a legal professional who understands the system, the charges, and how to deconstruct those charges to craft an effective defense. In your time of need, turn to our Fort Lauderdale DUI defense lawyer at the Law Offices of Jaime A. Aird.

Contact us online or call (954) 866-7719 to schedule a consultation about your case today.

Florida DUI Penalties

A first-offense DUI carries many penalties, including the loss of your driver’s license for six months, up to $1,000 in fines, up to six months in jail, installation of ignition interlock device, mandatory probation, and 50 hours of community service. You also may be required to attend DUI school and get substance abuse treatment.

If you are charged with multiple DUIs within 10 years of your first DUI the penalties can increase to:

  • Second DUI - Up to $2k in fines, 9 months in jail, & 5 years of license suspension
  • Third DUI - Up to $5k in fines, 1 year in jail, & mandatory 10 year license suspension
  • Four or More DUIs - Minimum $5k fine, up to 5 years in jail, & the possibility of permanently loosing your driver's license

You can be charged with a felony DUI if:

  • Your BAC exceeds .15%
  • You drove while under the influence with a minor in your car
  • You caused an accident, injury, or fatality while driving under the influence

Additionally, if you have been charged with a DUI chances are your license will be suspended. You have to make a DMV administrative review within 10 days of notice that your license was suspended. It is important to note that a DMV hearing is different than your legal court appearance and our firm is fully equipped to guide you through both.

How Our Fort Lauderdale DUI Attorney Can Help

Many technical and legal aspects of DUI arrests can be challenged. As a former prosecutor, our attorney is well-equipped to uncover anything that would mitigate or invalidate a DUI charge. We understand the full consequences of how a DUI can negatively alter your life and that is why we fight aggressively to give you the full benefits of a sound defense.

Find out how the Law Offices of Jaime A. Aird can defend you. Connect with us at (954) 866-7719.

Read Our Recent Victories

We don't stop until you're satisfied with the result.
  • Case Dismissed Aggravated Assault with a Firearm
  • Case Dismissed Battery
  • Case Dismissed DUI
  • Case Dismissed DUI
  • Case Dismissed DUI
  • Not Guilty at Trial Possession of Marijuana
  • Not Guilty at Trial Resisting an Officer without Violence